Pages Navigation Menu

Book Reviews, Author Features, Recipes & More... Now from Indiana

Taking a Bullet for You & “Nothing in Particular” by Kate LeDonne

Posted by on Aug 11, 2014 in Books, Featured Posts, Kriss Morton, Leanne Herrera, Reviews | 37 comments

Avoir des relations sexuelles avec moi en cours d’exécution ….”

Read More

#WalkingDead withdrawals? Try @JLMurrayWriter, she helped me!

Posted by on May 24, 2014 in Bacon, Books, Cabin Cooking, Libations, Review & a Recipe, Zombies | 0 comments

Zombie Goodness from Jenny Undead: The Thirteen

Read More

Blown away with “Fiery Edge of Steel by @Archer_Jill #review

Posted by on Nov 12, 2013 in Authors, Books, Reviews | 1 comment

I was going to do a series review but after realizing I never posted a review of the first one and since the cover reveal just launched I needed to get this up to you! I received these books so I could get prepped for a radio interview with the author (see below) and it was one of those gifts that just kept giving! I also received the paperbacks from the publisher and they are on my prized shelf because I am definitely a fan of Ms. Archer’s writing and world-building!

Read More

“The Curse of Underghast” by @ColinFBarnes – Weekly Shorts No.18

Posted by on Sep 1, 2013 in Books, Horror, Weekly Shorts | 2 comments

Weekly Shorts No.18

What a surprise! Just trolling around Facebook when I caught a status update from one of my original twitter friends. I went to look at what he had published and was delighted to find a short story. I grabbed it, read it and after I caught my breath wrote to tell him I wanted to read everything he had done. I don’t know how I missed this, I had his technothriler, ARTIFICIAL EVIL on my TBR for a while now and just had not gotten to it. Serves me right to ignore the reading I want to do, huh? So if you are looking for something solid and absolutely as satisfying as a full-course meal to take in one bite? Go pick this up for 99¢ and have a nice quick read. Oh once piece of advice? Read it before bed so you can wake up all sweaty and catching your breath like I did Thursday night *grin*

Read More

Thunder! Na-na-na-naaaa-na-na-naaa-na – Where the plot comes from @pwtucker

Posted by on Aug 19, 2013 in Authors, Books, Giveaways & Contests, Guest Posts, Writing | 3 comments

katrina-guestpostI have Phil Tucker on the blog today (see I promised) with a feature article about how The Human Revolt, the vampire book I have raved about these last few weeks? Vampire Miami? Is the first in the series. I asked him, as part of the Vampire vs. Zombie hop to write a little about the book. He was sweet enough to give me a taste of his brain! And his book is not even about zombies! *wink*

Read More

I was “Playing Hooky” for an hour with @RitaJWebb in Anchorage, AK

Posted by on Aug 15, 2013 in Books, Giveaways & Contests, Reviews | 3 comments

PlayingHooky-button-002Well I had to read her book because it happens to take place in Anchorage… and Rita wrote it… and *grin* it happens to be…

Read More

“Secrets to a Successful Blog Tour” Blog Tour with @Girl_Who_Reads

Posted by on Aug 13, 2013 in Books, Giveaways & Contests, Indie Projects & Promotions, Reviews | 2 comments

Ever wonder how to put together your own blog tour?

Read More

Review of Moonlight, Mama’s Kitchen Mondays & More with @LdyDisney

Posted by on Aug 12, 2013 in Books, Cabin Cooking, Giveaways & Contests, Mama's Kitchen Mondays, Reading, Review & a Recipe, Reviews, Vegetarian | 4 comments

Welcome to Mama’s Kitchen Mondays with an extra treat!

LisaKessler-MamasKitchenMonday

A Review & a note from Lana & Adam, the stars of Moonlight!

I want to welcome Lisa Kessler to the blog again! She has graciously nudged her leading couple into supplying me with a list of their top ten favorite foots (well I think they gave it their best shot!! You know how HOT those shifter couples get!). In honor of her and the book  I am also sharing a recipe that will wet even the most picky of spaghetti eater’s appetite! I have shared it before but I think this fits well! In one scene, Adam cooks for Lana (our leading couple) on one of their first dates. He cooks his spaghetti sauce in a crock pot all day… Well, I got a treat for you. Just look behind the tab labeled Mama’s Kitchen Monday Recipe and be in for a treat. I realize the shifters are meat eaters, but I am thinking this may even fool them!! Yep, you can trick them! I guarantee no one who is a meat eater will know the difference, if you follow my secret vegetarian ninja directions! On my Bacon Whisperer’s Honor! (I maybe a meat eater but I have tons of favorite vegetarian dishes I love to make and eat!)!

First off I want to tell everyone who thinks they are going to point their fingers in my direction and go “HAHAHA YOU love hot shifter reads!!” Ya ya ya ya, I think I can no longer fall back on the “I have Harlequin PTSD” excuse anymore. Writers like Lisa Kessler have driven the flashbacks far back into a cobweb infested corner of my demented mind. I loved this book. I read three books of a paranormal nature last week, one was my #TEAMVAMPIRE  review book, this one and probably should have read Moonlight last because it ruined me for the other shifter book I read.

How do I love it? Well let me count the ways, or at least give you some examples..

Lana

Visit celebitchy.com - Natalie Porter - LanaLana

Though written in a somewhat formulaic paranormal romance style of an alpha female meets alpha male and butts heads until she realizes she needs him to rescue her… Lana still ends up making the story fresh for me. There is no hint of a churned out story, Lisa Kessler has a gift.

Lana is wonderful! She has survived after being a foster kid and never fitting in, and as she has gotten older she starts to have black outs once a month during the new moon. Why do I like this about her? Well I like how she deals with it, proactively! Sure it gets her hunted, when truthfully it is her who could be hunting them *wink* but this, this is one of the reasons I adore Lana. She is one HELL of go getter!

————————

Adam

Adam is actually a blend of  the myriad of alpha male characters you find in paranormal romances. He is a brooding, indecisive individual who always wants to save the day and the woman he is with. Driven by the rules of the pack and his immediate attraction to Lana, which is beyond his control, his personality sometimes seems to go on Swing Ride for a bit. Made me wonder if he would ever get off! There were times I wanted to choke him!

But I was going to tell you what I love about him… I love the way he loves her. So passionately with every ounce of his being. I love how he loves his family, though will walk away from her for the woman he is meant to spend his life with, despite their differences.

Eduardo Verastegui - Adam

What makes this completely different than most cookie cutter paranormal romances is Lisa Kessler switches back and forth from Lana and Adam’s point of view. Each chapter is labeled with whose name (turn) it is and we see each of their inner struggles from their voice, not from the outside of what is going on around them. Lana’s struggle to let her guard down, let Adam in and allow herself to be loved. Adam’s struggle, as I mentioned, to be part of the pack or to embrace his destiny with Lana and her Jaguar shifter and to let Lana be her own woman, along with many others. It was very refreshing and very well done.

I have read a lot of books with shifters, I don’t live on a hill looking down at all the urban fantasy books with my high literature and (shoving my zombie books under the couch) umm nose in the air, I swear! *snickering* Seriously! But I am not a paranormal romance reader unless it really has a good hook. Yep, I think I am taking Lisa on my next fishing trip, we will clean up and I will have a freezer full! She had me (excuse the cliché) hook line and ……… totally hot yummy werewolf …sinker! Though I gotta admit, I liked the villains! Gotta love me the bad boys and girls, no matter how horrible they are to the team! Of course, who led those guys wrong? Just how bad were they? Could it be those who are chasing Lana? Oh heck.. wait… is that a spoiler? CRAP! HAH!

I read this almost straight through. I fell asleep after swearing at Lisa telling her she kept me up till 6 AM and woke up to finish it only go and get all fangirl on her cute ass! She really outdid herself! Thanks for giving me a great read, I have to agree with Froggarita, this may be going on my favorite reads for Urban Paranormal Romance/Shifter/HOT/reads of the year!

But between the hot yummy shifting goodness? I think this is a wonderful message of how differences do not have to be what keeps us apart. Just because one group “kills” your kind, doesn’t mean all are the same… right? *wink* again .. good job…

5 – double paw prints, my friend! In honor of Lana! (cuz she’s my fav)

CatPawPrintDivider

mamas-kitchen-template-text

 

Ingredients:

This is my base recipe and is for 12-15 servings which can easily be divided, multiplied and monster-sized for the masses!

Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP) mix - I can't believe it's not MEAT!

Textured Vegetable Protein (TVP) mix – I can’t believe it’s not MEAT!

  • Chopping Onion

    Chop Course – Chopped with an Alaskan Inupiat Ulu in a cutting bowl.

    1 2/4 cup of TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein)

  • 2 Jars Spaghetti Sauce (NOT Ragu but a simple plain store brand or a simple cheesy marinara. You are going to spice it up.)
  • 2 yellow onions chopped
  • 2-3 tbsp Italian Seasoning (It really depends on the seasoning, I make my own from fresh herbs each summer so I use a lot)
  • 2 1/2 tbsp of minced garlic (from a jar with all that wonderful juice)
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1 cup of Cottage Cheese
  • 1 1/2 lbs of spaghetti (yes they are large and in charge with… remember what my mom said, always make double what you think they will eat)
  • Olive Oil
  • Water
  • Salt & Pepper
Directions:
  1. Noodles and Sauce

    Noodles and Sauce

    Start your kettle going with some fresh water and put the TVP (TRUST ME they will NEVER know!), your Italian Seasoning & the onion powder, in a metal bowl (this is important), mix well. When the water whistles loudly (more like screams and causes cat to run upstairs so quick she can possibly trip and end up stuck in the winter sweaters hanging up about 8 feet up), add 2 cups o water and mix with a wooden spoon.

    Spaghetti with Vegetarian Lasagna Sauce

    Spaghetti with Vegetarian Lasagna Sauce – SEE, looks just like meat!

  2. While stirring add 1 tbsp of the minced garlic into the TVP, cover with a plate to let it re-hydrate and steep in that lovely mix of savory goodies!
  3. Pour both jars of sauce into a large saucepan. Pour about 1/2 cup of water into each jar, put the top back on and shake, pour into sauce.
  4. Heat up the olive oil in a large frying pan on medium heat, add the onions and saute till just starting to become translucent, then  bump up the heat to medium high and get them just a TOUCH of crispy on the edges. This also will allow for the sound of sizzling and people may actually think you are cooking meat! *wink* (about 2 minutes max)Add to sauce.
  5. With a fork, crush up the cottage cheese a bit more and add to the sauce mixing well.
  6. Uncover the TVP mix and stir up one more time before adding it to the sauce. I add salt and pepper to taste. Sometimes it needs more and sometimes it doesn’t need much. Let your spoon do the walking!
  7. Heat over medium heat till bubbling and move to a back burner set on simmer to low, stirring occasionally to prevent sticking to the bottom while you make the cookies.

NOTES: When I am cooking this much pasta if I do not want to deal with going to the storage shed and digging out the lobster pot, I do it in two – three batches. After each round of pasta is done (time it for about 15 minutes for each round of pasta) I add it to a huge foil serving pan (I nest two together so the walls of containment are shored on that lovely mess of happy goodness.. in other words, prepare for the possibility of a disaster and protect the carpet. When having celebrations Chaos Reigns! So always prepare well for disasters… shore up the serving dishes. Keep covered in the oven while you finish everything else.

Read More

BBQ at the Impossible Thulukans with @MaerWilson #FourthWallFriday

Posted by on Aug 9, 2013 in ASMSG, Authors, Blog Talk Radio, Books, Fourth-Wall Friday, Giveaways & Contests, Guest Posts, Mystery | 8 comments

Happy Va-Jay-Jay Coffee

Happy Va-Jay-Jay Coffee

I recently discovered this new coffee that folks have been seeing me go on and on about it. I won’t go and tell you exactly just what body parts it makes me happy but it does give me a complete body-gasm. But I am always willing to try others and I had not had a good cup of coffee in San Francisco in a while and since it was Friday I decided to take advantage of of my Fourth-Wall machine and flash on down for some delicious caffeinated goodness. I opened my eyes and saw a bright red can of Coke and a woman with one eyebrow raised looking at me as I clutched the carabinger with my dinged up travel mug swinging.

Hey, I need coffee!” I said defensively

So does my husband. Me? Just give me Coke, and I am happy.. or a glass of wine.” she said with a crooked smile.

I glanced over and saw a good looking man with sun streaked hair with a glow about him. Something seemed familiar about him, maybe he was on one of those new paranormal shows? I needed coffee but the line was moving to slow and I was being distracted by his odd behavior. He was writing a note out in very controlled strokes and looking like he was trying to hard.

Thulu, she is going to have to believe it is from us, if you make it look to perfect she won’t buy it!

Ohhhhh man I jumped right into this weeks Fourth-Wall Friday and I was getting first peek at Maer Wilson’s Private Investigating Team La Fi and Thulu… Oh gosh, I think Maer is going to need more than one glass of wine when she sees the note!

fork-divider

*pssssssssssssssssssssst — Just in case this is all a dream, Maer wants to make sure you guys know she created these guys and is giving away copies of the short story, Ghost Memory to two folks and to one lucky person the full novel Relics and the short Ghost Memory of The Thulukan Chronicles. Enter the Rafflecopter below, and make sure you answer the comment entry, this is a FUN one!*

The Impossible Thulukans

bbq-invite-note-maerThe invitation was impossible on all levels. Impossible to have received. Impossible to ignore. Someone’s idea of a joke? A brief note, with an address in San Francisco and a round trip plane ticket from Las Vegas.

fork-divider

Read More

Regan Grier…Zombie Hunter – Autar Survivor – #FourthWallFriday

Posted by on Jul 26, 2013 in Books, Featured Posts, Fourth-Wall Friday, Guest Posts, Zombies | 5 comments

Fourth Wall Friday with one of my favorite authors of the year… ohhh Joseph ND Picard!  Read my review of LIFEHACK!greyline-divider

Read More
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!