Pages Navigation Menu

Book Reviews, Author Features, Recipes & More...

Chocolate Cake & DEVIL MUSIC by @CarlyOrosz #Review & a #Recipe

Posted by on Dec 10, 2014 in Authors, Books, Dessert, Featured Posts, Giveaways & Contests, Kriss Morton, Novel Publicity, Review & a Recipe, Vegan, Vegetarian | 7 comments

black-duckyWhat to say…. Seriously, after I read this I read what I reviewed yesterday, so I am sitting here trying to switch gears, for this book is nothing close to yesterdays. It is 700 pages of .. just lots of feelings and emotions. It didn’t blow my mind, but it surprised the hell out of me in ways I .. just wanted to smack people around, and myself for doubting it .

Read More

The Critic from Hell #FourthWallFriday with @AidenTruss

Posted by on Nov 7, 2014 in Books, Featured Posts, Fourth-Wall Friday, Horror, Writing | 1 comment

gape-sm

Read More

Urgent Personal Matter a #FourthWallFriday email to @Moha_Doha

Posted by on Aug 21, 2014 in Books, Featured Posts, Fourth-Wall Friday, Indie Projects & Promotions | 0 comments

Mohanalakshmi Rajakumar is no stranger to the blog and has been featured and visited a few times including my review for her latest An Unlikely Goddess & Coloured & Other Stories. Her stories focus on the area of Doha (one of the reasons we call her Moha Doha). Doha is a city in Qatar and the background for two of her novels and a memoir. Everyday is a fourth-wall for Mohana as she picks up on motifs from the exploration of life for housemaids… today it all started from a email marked “Urgent Personal Matter” …

Read More

Seeing spots alright – “Sunspots” by @KarenSueBell Twofer Tuesday #BookReview

Posted by on Jul 21, 2014 in Books, Featured Posts, Kriss Morton, Leanne Herrera, Reviews | 0 comments

Welcome to the first ever Twofer Tuesday review!

Read More

Sometimes a Bologna Sandwich is…Lakebridge: Autumn: @lakebridgecycle No.3

Posted by on Jul 10, 2014 in Books, Featured Posts, Giveaways & Contests, Horror, Kriss Morton, Reading, Reviews | 2 comments

…and sometimes it isn’t

sometimes-a-bologna-sandwich

Read More

Take the time to read “Dusk and Summer by @JosephAPinto

Posted by on Jul 3, 2014 in Books, Featured Posts, Giveaways & Contests, Kriss Morton, Reviews | 7 comments

I’m a lover of short stories and novellas, not because the are quicker to read but because it’s actually one of the hardest and most disciplined types of stories to write and really pull off well. For a reviewer, however, it can be very hard review to write, especially with one so deserving of my absolute very best. As the author states below, “A fantasy is born of equal parts magic and truth; a writer’s promise to his audience should be a seamless telling of the two“. He nailed it with this statement, especially relating to his own work. Joseph A. Pinto’s Dusk and Summer is one of those literary works which has left me teary eyed with the smell of salt hovering on my scent memory.

Read More

The Daughter Of The Sea and The Sky by @DavidLitwack – Review & a Recipe

Posted by on May 22, 2014 in Books, Dessert, Jamie Keller, Novel Publicity, Review & a Recipe, Reviews | 1 comment

black-duckyA Novel Publicity Tour Review & a Recipe:

Read More

An Unlikely Goddess Reviewed on Cabin Goddess with Curry Skewers

Posted by on Feb 25, 2014 in Authors, Books, Cabin Cooking, Giveaways & Contests, Goddess Fish Promotions, Poultry, Review & a Recipe, Reviews | 11 comments

An Unlikely Goddess” is Worthy of the Cabin Goddess

Read More

#Unstoppable Pizza & #GrasshopperJungle by Andrew Smith & ate by @AustinSzerba

Posted by on Feb 24, 2014 in Books, Giveaways & Contests, Lady Reader's Book Stuff, Mama's Kitchen Mondays, Review & a Recipe | 5 comments

Grasshopper Jungle… it’s #unstoppable

Read More

“The Curse of Underghast” by @ColinFBarnes – Weekly Shorts No.18

Posted by on Sep 1, 2013 in Books, Horror, Weekly Shorts | 2 comments

Weekly Shorts No.18

What a surprise! Just trolling around Facebook when I caught a status update from one of my original twitter friends. I went to look at what he had published and was delighted to find a short story. I grabbed it, read it and after I caught my breath wrote to tell him I wanted to read everything he had done. I don’t know how I missed this, I had his technothriler, ARTIFICIAL EVIL on my TBR for a while now and just had not gotten to it. Serves me right to ignore the reading I want to do, huh? So if you are looking for something solid and absolutely as satisfying as a full-course meal to take in one bite? Go pick this up for 99¢ and have a nice quick read. Oh once piece of advice? Read it before bed so you can wake up all sweaty and catching your breath like I did Thursday night *grin*

Read More