Pages Navigation Menu

Book Reviews, Author Features, Recipes & More... Now from Indiana

“The Curse of Underghast” by @ColinFBarnes – Weekly Shorts No.18

Weekly Shorts No.18

What a surprise! Just trolling around Facebook when I caught a status update from one of my original twitter friends. I went to look at what he had published and was delighted to find a short story. I grabbed it, read it and after I caught my breath wrote to tell him I wanted to read everything he had done. I don’t know how I missed this, I had his technothriler, ARTIFICIAL EVIL on my TBR for a while now and just had not gotten to it. Serves me right to ignore the reading I want to do, huh? So if you are looking for something solid and absolutely as satisfying as a full-course meal to take in one bite? Go pick this up for 99¢ and have a nice quick read. Oh once piece of advice? Read it before bed so you can wake up all sweaty and catching your breath like I did Thursday night *grin*

Official Review

What a powerful and devious story. The style is in the most classic of Gothic horror which left me wanting for nothing in the end, except perhaps the light on, the doors locked and all the windows nailed shut.

Colin has captured the tone of the genre with every terrifying sentence. What a delicious and dusty delight to find in such a crisp succinct dark tale.

Brilliant! I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoyed the journal style tales from HP Lovecraft and it is reminiscent of Stoker;s Dracula in the way it is told. Don’t be deceived by the cover, this is classic through and through!~

Five coffin nails!!
“The Curse of Underghast” by @ColinFBarnes – Weekly Shorts No.18The Curse of Underghast
Series: Anachron Horror
by Colin F. Barnes
five-stars
Pages: 27
Published by Anachron Press
on August 4, 2013
Genres: Gothic Horror, Horror, Literary Fiction
Source & Buy Links: Amazon
Amazon •Narrator: Brian Lumley, British Fantasy Society, British Science Fiction Association, Graham Masterton, London School of Journalism, Neal Stephenson, Open University

Dear reader,

I write this not so much as a warning, but rather an explanation. I’m hoping this letter will put some kind of logical sense into events, which appeared to have none. I worry for my life. Both in this realm and that inhabited by… other things. Please indulge me as I tell you how this situation occurred. Maybe you can learn from my experience.

Either way, my time is borrowed from things I cannot fully comprehend, and I fear if I don’t write this down now, there will be no hope for any of us. I’m already sorry that you have journeyed to this place at my request; there is no going back for you now. I can no longer continue in my capacity, and so I hand you the baton, and the burden that it brings.

I can only wish that you will find something within my story to help you, and that you may somehow find it in your cursed heart to forgive me for what I have done…

An Anachron Horror Short Story.

Colin F. Barnes

About the Author

Colin has run a number of tech-based businesses, worked in rat-infested workshops, and scoured the back streets of London looking for characters and stories–which he found in abundance. He has a number of publishing credits with stories alongside authors such as: Brian Lumley, Ramsey Campbell, and Graham Masterton.Colin F. Barnes is a publisher and full-time writer of suspense and techno thrillers and a member of both the British Fantasy Society and the British Science Fiction Association. He honed his craft with the London School of Journalism and the Open University (BA, English).

Colin’s latest book, an SF thriller, is ARTIFICIAL EVIL: Book 1 of The Techxorcist. The second book: ASSEMBLY CODE is due out in this fall.

Twitter | Facebook | G+ | Tumblr | Website

In a few weeks his first book, ARTIFICIAL EVIL will be re-released with a fresh line edit, and a gorgeous cover (well the cover already is there but I remember the first one since that is what is on my Kindle Fire!). Though I have to wait till the update, I promise.. I honestly cannot wait to dig into this one and with the second one coming… ohhh la la la

Artificial Evil

Book 1 of The Techxorcist by Colin F. Barnes Three hackers. A deadly plot. One chance to save humanity.

In the tradition of William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, and Richard Morgan, British writer Colin F. Barnes delivers a cyberpunk tech thriller for the modern age.

2153. Post-cataclysm. The last city exists beneath a dome where the mysterious benefactors ‘The Family’ tightly control the population with a death lottery and a semi-autonomous network.

All is well until the day family man Gerry Cardle, head of the death lottery, inexplicably finds himself the no.1 target of a malicious Artificial Intelligence. Gerry’s numbers are up, and he has just 7 days to save himself,  find the source of the AI, and keep the last stronghold of humanity safe.

Artificial Evil is approx 207 pages.

Ebook:
Amazon: US | UK
Print:
Amazon: US | UK
CreateSpace

2 Comments

  1. Artificial Evil sounds great as does the other. Thanks for introducing me to another awesome author.

  2. Thanks for the recommendation, Kriss! Grabbing a copy. 🙂

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!